ABOUT US

The competence center ASR

The EOTO Competence center anti-black racism (Racism against Black People) sees itself as a platform on which black expertise influences established social institutions and actors by means of formats of a racism-critical, historical-political educational work and preventive-pedagogical practice and in which black, African and African-diasporic communities and networks ( fort), empowered and empowered as agents of change. These two perspectives are reciprocal.

Our vision is a history conscious, inclusive, discrimination and racism critical society in which black people recognized as a group (s) exposed to the specific and historically contingent form of anti-black racism (ASR); a society that therefore recognizes the need to sustainably decolonize its own social structures and institutions and to find appropriate ways and means to name, understand and combat anti-black racism (ASR).

Each One Teach One (EOTO) eV

Each One Teach One (EOTO) eV is the sponsor of the Competence Center for Anti-Black Racism. The name Each One Teach One was coined in the context of black, anti-racist resistance movements. He points to the lack of access to formal education in the period of enslavement and colonialism and the need to develop and pass on knowledge within black communities and families.

Each One Teach One (EOTO) eV is a community-based education and empowerment project in Berlin. Founded in 2012, the association opened its doors as a neighborhood library in March 2014 and has since been a place for learning and meeting. EOTO presents literature from people of African origin and imparts knowledge in intergenerational dialogue. The reference library includes works by authors from the African continent and the diaspora. It documents more than 8,000 mainly German-language books as well as contemporary documents, black history and the present in and outside of Germany.

Until 2017, EOTO was active in three work areas: Starting from the start as library and Archive, In 2018, the work expanded to the areas Youth work, Representation of interests and networking platform for black people out. The basis for the expansion was the start of model project funding for the development of youth work. In addition, in mid-2017 there was structural development funding for the Federal Agency for Racism Prevention and Empowerment of Black People as part of the federal program “Live Democracy!” by the Federal Ministry for Family, Seniors, Women and Youth (BMFSFJ). Both grants allow EOTO to continuously deepen the professionalization process that started in 2017 and further strengthen the basis of the association's many years of voluntary work. This enables EOTO to take the next steps and come closer to its goal of belonging to the organizations of black people who have a significant influence on German society, Europe and the associated African diaspora through community building, youth and cultural work as well as political advocacy. This is linked to the hope of being able to set new trends for anti-black racism in the context of the current UN decade of people of African origin, for society as a whole.

With additional funding from the Berlin Senate, the Advice center for those affected by anti-black racism (ASR) named EACH ONE (www.each-one.de) 2018 as the fourth field of activity of EOTO. Each One Teach One (EOTO) has been working as a Competence center anti-black racism in the federal program “Live Democracy!” and develops quality standards and formats for school-based and extracurricular political educational work.

You can find more information about EOTO eV at

www.eoto-archiv.de

 

COMPETENCE CENTER TEAM

Nadja Ofuatey-Alazard

Management & project management

Maithy Mouné

Management & project management

Karen Taylor

Head of Political Communication

Wanjiru Njehiah

Public Relations & Education

Makda Isak

Political Education & Education

Princela Biyaa

Education & Political Education

Lizebeth Taylor

accounting

Madita Hardegen

Assistant competence center

ÜBER UNS

Das Kompetenzzentrum ASR

Das EOTO Kompetenzzentrum  Anti-Schwarzer Rassismus (Rassismus gegen Schwarze Menschen) versteht sich als Plattform, auf der Schwarze Expertise mittels Formaten einer rassismuskritischen, historisch-politischen Bildungsarbeit und präventiv-pädagogischen Fachpraxis auf etablierte gesellschaftliche Institutionen und Akteur*innen einwirkt und in dem Schwarze, afrikanische und afrodiasporische Communities und Netzwerke (fort)gebildet, empowert und als Agent*innen des Wandels ermächtigt werden. Diese beiden Perspektiven bedingen einander reziprok.

Unsere Vision ist eine geschichtsbewusste, inklusive, diskriminierungs- und rassismuskritische Gesellschaft, in der Schwarze Menschen als Gruppe(n) anerkannt werden, die der spezifischen und historisch kontingenten Form des Anti-Schwarzen Rassismus (ASR) ausgesetzt ist/sind; eine Gesellschaft, die von daher die Notwendigkeit anerkennt, die eigenen gesellschaftlichen Strukturen und Institutionen nachhaltig zu dekolonisieren und angemessene Mittel und Wege zu finden, Anti-Schwarzen Rassismus (ASR) zu benennen, zu verstehen, und zu bekämpfen.

Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V.

Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V. ist der Träger des Kompetenzzentrums Anti-Schwarzer Rassismus. Der Name Each One Teach One wurde im Kontext Schwarzer-, antirassistischer Widerstandsbewegungen geprägt. Er verweist auf den Mangel an Zugängen zu formaler Bildung in der Zeit der Versklavung und des Kolonialismus und auf die dadurch entstandene Notwendigkeit, Wissen innerhalb Schwarzer Gemeinschaften und Familien zu entwickeln und weiterzugeben.

Each One Teach One (EOTO) e.V. ist ein Community- basiertes Bildungs- und Empowerment-Projekt in Berlin. 2012 gegründet, eröffnete der Verein im März 2014 als Kiez-Bibliothek seine Türen und ist seither ein Ort des Lernens und der Begegnung. EOTO stellt Literatur von Menschen afrikanischer Herkunft vor und vermittelt Wissen im intergenerationalen Dialog. Die Präsenzbibliothek umfasst Werke von Autor*innen des afrikanischen Kontinents und der Diaspora. Sie dokumentiert anhand von mehr als 8.000 vor allem deutschsprachiger Bücher sowie zeitgeschichtlicher Dokumente, Schwarze Geschichte und Gegenwart in und außerhalb Deutschlands.

Bis 2017 war EOTO in drei Arbeitsbereichen aktiv: Ausgehend vom Beginn als Bücherei und Archiv, dehnte sich 2018 die Arbeit auf die Bereiche Jugendarbeit, Interessenvertretung und Vernetzungsplattform Schwarzer Menschen aus. Grundlage für die Ausweitung war der Beginn einer Modellprojektförderung für den Aufbau der Jugendarbeit. Hinzu kam Mitte 2017 die Strukturentwicklungsförderung zum Bundeszentralen Träger für Rassismusprävention und Empowerment Schwarzer Menschen im Rahmen des Bundesprogramms “Demokratie leben!” durch das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ). Beide Förderungen erlauben EOTO, den im Jahr 2017 begonnenen Professionalisierungsprozess laufend zu vertiefen und die Basis der jahrelangen, ehrenamtlichen Arbeit des Vereins weiter zu stärken. Dadurch kann EOTO die nächsten Schritte gehen und seinem Ziel näher kommen, zu den Organisationen Schwarzer Menschen zu gehören, die durch Communitybuilding, Jugend-   und   Kulturarbeit   sowie   politische Interessenvertretung maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die deutsche Gesellschaft, Europa und die dazugehörige afrikanische Diaspora nehmen. Damit ist die Hoffnung verbunden, neue Akzente zum Anti-Schwarzen Rassismus im Zeichen der laufenden UN-Dekade Menschen afrikanischer Herkunft, gesamtgesellschaftlich setzen zu können.

Durch eine zusätzliche Förderung des Berliner Senats wurde die Beratungsstelle für Betroffene von Anti-Schwarzem-Rassismus (ASR) namens EACH ONE (www.each-one.de) 2018 als viertes Tätigkeitsfeld von EOTO aufgebaut. Seit Januar 2020 fungiert Each One Teach One (EOTO) als Kompetenzzentrum Anti-Schwarzer Rassismus im Bundesprogramm “Demokratie leben!” und entwickelt Qualitätsstandards und Formate der schulischen und außerschulischen politischen Bildungsarbeit.

Weitere Informationen zu EOTO e.V. finden Sie auf

www.eoto-archiv.de

 

KOMPETENZZENTRUM TEAM

Nadja Ofuatey-Alazard

Geschäftsführung & Projektleitung

Maithy Mouné

Geschäftsführung & Projektleitung

Karen Taylor

Leitung Politische Kommunikation

Wanjiru Njehiah

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit & Bildung

Makda Isak

Politische Bildung & Bildung

Princela Biyaa

Bildung & Politische Bildung

Lizebeth Taylor

Buchhaltung

Madita Hardegen

Assistenz Kompetenzzentrum