Practical research and research funding

Few statistics are available on the number of people of African origin that allow conclusions to be drawn about the lives of black people in Germany. At present, the number of black people in Germany can only be estimated on the basis of statistics on people with an African migration background (MH). According to the microcensus, 856,000 people in Germany have an African MH. However, if one only starts with the "migration background", one underestimates the number of black people because the statistics do not take into account information about grandparents or previous generations. Thus, neither Germans of African origin in the third or later generation, nor African Americans resident in Germany or African Europeans or other groups of black people are visible in these estimates. If all these groups are taken into account, it can be assumed that over a million people of African origin live in Germany.
Against the background of this knowledge, self-organizations have long been required to collect statistics that, through self-identification, give black people the opportunity to record their research experience, to publish it and to be able to communicate it in a practice-oriented manner.

Through the research project »Afrocensus«, financed by the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency (ADS), EOTO is now, for the first time, in cooperation with Citizens For Europe (CfE) 2020 conducting a Germany-wide pilot study among black people in order to make basic statements about the experiences of discrimination and life-time perspectives of black people in Germany to be able to.
Building on this, the Competence Center for Anti-Black Racism (ASR) will stimulate further quantitative and qualitative research as well as theoretical reflections, provide practical impulses and bundle technical perspectives. The theoretical foundation of ASR prevention is an important concern here. Through theoretical reflections, practical studies, technical discussions, specialist symposia and topic-related publications, the EOTO Competence Center promotes the transfer of science and practice and thus actively contributes to the diversification and further development of specialist discourses. In terms of subject advocacy, efforts to establish »Black Studies« at German universities and dedicated support for young academics for black academics are also located here.

Praxisforschung und Forschungsförderung

Über die Anzahl an Personen afrikanischer Herkunft stehen wenige Statistiken zur Verfügung, die Rückschlüsse auf das Leben Schwarzer Menschen in Deutschland erlauben. Zurzeit kann die Anzahl Schwarzer Menschen in Deutschland nur auf Basis der Statistik zu Menschen mit einem afrikanischen Migrationshintergrund (MH) geschätzt werden. Laut Mikrozensus haben in Deutschland 856.000 Menschen einen afrikanischen MH. Geht man aber nur vom »Migrationshintergrund« aus, unterschätzt man die Anzahl Schwarzer Menschen, da die Statistik keine Informationen über die Großeltern oder vorherige Generationen berücksichtigt. Somit werden weder Deutsche afrikanischer Herkunft in der dritten oder späteren Generation, noch in Deutschland ansässige Afro-Amerikaner*innen oder Afro-Europäer*innen oder andere Gruppen Schwarzer Menschen in diesen Schätzungen sichtbar. Berücksichtigt man all diese Gruppen, ist davon auszugehen, dass in Deutschland über eine Million Menschen afrikanischer Herkunft leben.
Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Erkenntnis wird von Selbstorganisationen deshalb seit langem gefordert, Statistiken zu erheben, die über eine Selbstidentifikation Schwarzen Menschen die Möglichkeit geben, ihre Erfahrungen in der Forschung zu erfassen, zu veröffentlichen und praxisorientiert mitteilen zu können.

Durch das von der Antidiskriminierungsstelle des Bundes (ADS) finanzierte Forschungsprojekt »Afrozensus« realisiert EOTO nun in Kooperation mit Citizens For Europe (CfE) 2020 erstmalig eine deutschlandweite Pilotstudie unter Schwarzen Menschen, um grundlegende Aussagen über die Diskriminierungserfahrungen und lebensweltlichen Perspektiven Schwarzer Menschen in Deutschland machen zu können.
Darauf aufbauend wird das Kompetenzzentrum Anti-Schwarzer Rassismus (ASR)weitere quantitative und qualitative Forschung sowie theoretische Reflexionen anregen, praktische Impulse setzen und fachliche Perspektiven bündeln. Die fachtheoretische Fundierung der ASR-Prävention ist hier ein wichtiges Anliegen. Durch theoretische Reflexionen, Praxisstudien, Fachgespräche, Fachsymposien und themenbezogene Veröffentlichungen fördert das EOTO Kompetenzzentrum den Wissenschafts–Praxis–Transfer und trägt somit zur Diversifizierung und Weiterentwicklung der Fachdiskurse aktiv bei. Themenanwaltschaftlich sind hier auch Bemühungen um eine Etablierung der »Black Studies« an deutschen Hochschulen sowie eine dezidierte Nachwuchsförderung für Schwarze Akademiker*innen angesiedelt.